Interview with Luciano

 

Luciano Di Napoli

The dream of becoming a musician

 

A pianist often appears in the shadow. We see him from behind or from beside and on television, only his hands are shown. He must fit with the moods and the voice of those he accompanies. Here is the journey of the one who, in every concert, gives the first note to Nana.

FROM TUNISIA TO THE SOUTH OF FRANCE

Luciano Di Napoli was born on August 12, 1954 in Sfax, in Tunisia. His father was a locomotive engineer and his mother a secretary. Both are sons of Italian immigrants who were naturalized French. When the Algerian war for the Independence burst, a lot of Europeans settled in North Africa must return on the old continent. So, in 1960, a boat takes them to Marseille where they remain in a refugee camp during three months, before settling with their parents in Toulon, the time necesary to find a job. But the context is difficult. The Algerian war has been a defeat for France; the military service was imposed and a lot of citizens have lost family members and friends. Within a few time, they must accomodate a large number of refugees with their accent and their different lifestyle.

Luciano who is six years old vaguely remembers that time. What marks him the most, is the break-up of the family to the four corners of France and of course the climate change. Because of his name and his origins, he must learn to live with the remarks and the attitudes a bit racist from his classmates, but also from certain teachers. As time goes by, the tensions attenuate and he has good years with his family in Narbonne in Aude. The home is always filled with guests and everyone likes to celebrate with family and friends. They dance and there is always background music.

THE DESIRE TO BE A MUSICIAN

Luciano always wanted to become a musician and he is attracted by the instruments. At seven years old, he asks his parents to enrol him at the conservatory. As the courses are given free, his wish is granted. At the beginning, his parents rent the instruments. Then, when they realize that he works well, they offer him a trumpet that he considers as one of his nicest Christmas gifts. He will remain at the conservatory until 1972 where he studies solfège, trumpet, piano and the liturgical organ.

At twelve years old, Luciano starts participating in musical contests. He initially obtains a first prize as trumpet player and three others as pianist. In spite of modest incomes, his parents help him a lot morally but also materially, in particular by buying on credit all the instruments he needs. The first year, he rehearses his piano exercises at a neighbor’s home and then his parents buy one for him.

BEGINNINGS IN THE SHOW BUSINESS

His two brothers are musicians. Jean-Claude plays bass guitar and Antoine drums. In 1968, they decide to form a band. Luciano joins them and the trio starts performing in balls and accompanying regional singers. The Di Napoli Brothers play and sing popular music and rock from the fashion bands like Chicago Transit, Blood Sweat & Tears and Queen.

Three years later, the army separates them. Luciano, at seventeen years old, joins the ball orchestra of André Bermond, which performs during the festivals in Aude, Gard and Herault. The ensemble is doing fine and allows him to earn some money.

His parents continue to encourage him. However, his mother tells him that it is not a trade. So he continues his studies in a private school in Narbonne, from 1970 to 1972, where he will obtain a Certificate in Professional Accounting Studies. But he feels that he is not made for that and doesn’t see himself spending all his life in an office. After being away from home during all the year 1974 to do his military service, Luciano keeps on playing in various professional bands. In parallel, he decides to devote himself to the piano. To perfect his formation, he takes private courses and practices six hours per day during three years. Luciano passionately likes Music and his perseverance brings him all the opportunities to succeed. He makes contacts who open him doors and enable him to make a living from his Art. Very quickly, he is recognized by the conductors as having a good facility for adaptation.

FROM HALLYDAY TO SARDOU

From 1980, Luciano’s career takes a turn. He meets Johnny Hallyday, the biggest French star, who makes him pass an audition, because he desires to work with new musicians. The week after, Luciano performs in Michel Drucker’s talk show, then on tour. He plays piano, organ and synthetizer. It’s like a dream to perform in halls before 6,000 people. Johnny renews his team each year, but he keeps him.


In 1984, Luciano goes back to settle in the south of France. He keeps on meeting a lot of musicians who help him to carry on in the Musical Universe. He has the chance to integrate the René Coll Band, the official orchestra of Michel Sardou. Until 1988, he’s on tour, he makes recordings and TV apperances while playing especially synthetizer. It’s a chance for Luciano of being able to progress this time with the biggest rival of Hallyday.

WITH HERBERT AND NANA

From 1988, Luciano becomes Herbert Léonard’s accompanist. They knew each other during a summer tour of the Podium Europe N°1 and since then, they became friends. For Herbert, he plays piano, synthetizer and does the arrangements. Together, they record some albums and do several tours in Europe and in Quebec.


In parallel, he starts working with Nana Mouskouri. From the beginning, a nice complicity is set up between them. With her, Luciano learns the rigour and the discipline on stage and in studio. He discovers all World Music and he has the chance to meet great musicians. Thanks to her, he considers having relearned his trade. On her side Nana says that Luciano is the man of her Life for the Music. For two decades, they have performed in more than fourty countries.

THE MAN BEHIND THE PIANIST

Luciano defines himself as a man who likes his trade and who lives normally with his family and his friends. He tries to be honest, to respect the others, to have a team spirit, in brief simply being social. His Philosophy of Life is to enjoy the present moment at maximum.

Music is naturaly his favorite hobby. He listens to every new release, whether it be Jazz, Rock'n'roll, Middle of the Road or Classical. He doesn’t practice any sport, but he loves to watch football and rugby on TV. Sometimes he also attends matches at the stadiums, in particular at Roland-Garros for Les internationaux de France.

Luciano is married with Marie-Claude. They have two daughters, Charlotte and Fannie and five grandchildren. For him the south of France represents all his childhood, his teenage age and the time when he aspired and worked to become who he is today. He spends all his holidays there, because his family and his wife’s family still live there.

With the passing of time, Luciano feels privileged to make a living from Music. He is grateful towards his parents who allowed him to do what he wished and who supported him. He worked hard and succeded to carry out his dream of becoming a musician.

ON STAGE AND ON TELEVISION

Messages for Luciano

Entrevue avec Luciano

 

Luciano Di Napoli

Le rêve de devenir musicien

 

Un pianiste est souvent un peu dans l’ombre. On le voit de dos ou de profil et à la télévision, on ne montre que ses mains. Il doit se fondre aux états d’âme et à la voix de ceux qu’il accompagne. Voici le parcours de celui qui, à chaque gala, donne la première note à Nana.

DE LA TUNISIE AU MIDI

Luciano Di Napoli a vu le jour le 12 août 1954 à Sfax, en Tunisie. Son père, conducteur de locomotive et sa mère, secrétaire, sont tous deux des enfants d’immigrés italiens naturalisés Français. Lorsque la guerre de l’indépendance de l’Algérie éclate, beaucoup d’Européens installés en Afrique du Nord doivent retourner sur le vieux continent. Ainsi, en 1960, un bateau les amène vers Marseille où ils demeurent dans un camp de réfugiés pendant trois mois, avant de s’installer chez leurs parents à Toulon, le temps de se trouver du travail. Mais le contexte est difficile. La guerre d’Algérie a été une défaite pour la France; le service militaire était imposé et plusieurs ont perdu des proches. En peu de temps, elle doit accueillir un grand nombre de refugiés avec leur accent et leur mode de vie un peu différent.

Luciano qui a six ans se rappelle vaguement de cette époque. Ce qui le marque le plus, c'est l'éclatement de la famille aux quatre coins de la France et bien sûr le changement de climat. Vu son nom et ses origines, il doit apprendre à vivre avec les réflexions et les attitudes teintées de racisme de la part de ses camarades de classe, mais aussi de certains professeurs. Avec le temps, les tensions se sont atténuées et il a vécu de belles années avec sa famille à Narbonne dans l'Aude. La maison est toujours remplie d’invités et on aime beaucoup faire la fête avec la famille et les copains. On danse et il y a tout le temps de la musique de fond.

L'ENVIE D'ÊTRE MUSICIEN

Depuis toujours, Luciano veut devenir musicien et est attiré par les instruments. À l'âge de sept ans, il demande à ses parents de l'inscrire au conservatoire. Comme les cours se donnent gratuitement, son vœu est exaucé. Au début, ses parents louent les instruments. Puis, lorsqu’ils voient qu’il travaille bien, ils lui offrent une trompette qu’il considère comme un de ses plus beaux cadeaux de Noël. Il restera au conservatoire jusqu’en 1972 où il étudiera le solfège, la trompette, le piano et l’orgue liturgique.

Dès l’âge de douze ans, Luciano commence à participer à des concours. Il obtient d’abord un premier prix comme trompettiste et trois autres comme pianiste. Malgré des revenus modestes, ses parents l’aident beaucoup moralement mais aussi matériellement, notamment en achetant à crédit tous les instruments qu'il lui faut. La première année, il répète ses exercices de piano chez une voisine et ensuite ses parents lui en achètent un.

DÉBUTS DANS LE MÉTIER

Ses deux frères sont musiciens. Jean-Claude joue de la basse et Antoine de la batterie. En 1968, ils décident de former un groupe. Luciano se joint à eux et le trio commence à se produire dans des bals et à accompagner des chanteurs régionaux. Les frères Di Napoli jouent et chantent de la musique populaire et du rock des groupes à la mode comme Chicago Transit, Blood Sweat & Tears et Queen.

Trois années plus tard, l’armée les sépare. Luciano, alors âgé de dix-sept ans, se joint à l’orchestre de bal d’André Bermond, qui se produit lors des festivals de l’Aude, le Gard et l’Hérault. L’ensemble marche très bien et lui permet de gagner un peu d'argent.

Ses parents continuent à l’encourager. Toutefois, sa mère lui dit que ce n’est pas un métier. Il poursuit donc ses études dans une école privée de Narbonne, de 1970 à 1972, où il obtiendra un Brevet d’Études Professionnelles en comptabilité. Mais il sent qu’il n’est pas fait pour cela et ne se voit pas passer toute sa vie dans un bureau. Après s’être absenté pendant toute l’année 1974 pour faire son service militaire, Luciano continue à jouer dans divers groupes professionnels. Parallèlement, il décide de se consacrer au piano. Pour parfaire sa formation, il prend des cours privés et s’exerce six heures par jour pendant trois ans. Luciano aime passionnément la musique et sa persévérance lui apporte toute la chance de réussir. Il se fait des contacts qui lui ouvrent des portes et lui permettent de vivre de son art. Très vite, il est reconnu des chefs d'orchestre comme ayant une belle facilité d’adaptation.

DE HALLYDAY À SARDOU

À partir de 1980, Luciano voit sa carrière prendre un tournant. Il fait connaissance avec Johnny Hallyday, la plus grande star française, qui lui fait passer une audition, car il souhaite travailler avec de nouveaux musiciens. La semaine suivante, Luciano se retrouve dans le talk-show de Michel Drucker, puis en tournée. Il joue du piano, de l’orgue et du synthétiseur. C’est comme un rêve de se produire dans des salles de 6 000 personnes. Johnny renouvelle son équipe à chaque année, mais il le garde.


En 1984, Luciano retourne s’installer dans le Midi. Il continue à côtoyer de nombreux musiciens qui l’aident à poursuivre dans l’univers musical. Il a la chance d’intégrer l'ensemble de René Coll, l’orchestre officiel de Michel Sardou. Jusqu’en 1988, il participe aux tournées, aux disques et aux télés en jouant surtout du synthétiseur. C’est une chance pour Luciano de pouvoir progresser cette fois avec le plus grand rival de Hallyday.

AVEC HERBERT ET NANA

À partir de 1988, Luciano devient l’accompagnateur d’Herbert Léonard. Tous deux se sont connus lors d’une tournée d’été du Podium Europe N°1 et depuis, ils sont devenus amis. Pour Herbert, il  joue du piano, du synthétiseur et s’occupe des arrangements. Ensemble, ils enregistrent quelques albums et font plusieurs tournées en Europe et au Québec.


Parallèlement, il commence à travailler avec Nana Mouskouri. Dès le départ, une belle complicité se crée entre eux. Avec elle, Luciano apprend la rigueur et la discipline sur scène et en studio. Il découvre toutes les musiques du monde et a la chance de côtoyer de grands musiciens. Grâce à elle, il estime avoir réappris son métier. De son côté, Nana affirme que Luciano est l’homme de sa vie pour la musique. Depuis deux décennies, ils se sont produits dans une quarantaine de pays.

L’HOMME DERRIÈRE LE PIANISTE

Luciano se définit comme un homme qui aime son métier et qui vit normalement avec sa famille et ses amis. Il essaie d'être honnête, de respecter les autres, d'avoir un esprit d'équipe, en fait d'être sociable tout simplement. Sa philosophie de la vie, c'est de profiter au maximum du moment présent.

Son passe-temps favori, c'est bien sûr la musique. Il écoute toutes les nouveautés, que ce soit le jazz, le rock, la variété ou le classique. Il ne pratique pas de sport, mais il adore suivre le foot et le rugby à la télé. Il lui arrive aussi d'aller aux stades voir des matchs, notamment à Roland-Garros pour les internationaux de France.

Luciano est marié à Marie-Claude. Ils ont deux filles, Charlotte et Fannie et cinq petits-enfants. Le Midi de la France représente pour lui toute son enfance, son adolescence et la période où il aspirait et travaillait à ce qu’il est devenu aujourd’hui. Il y passe toutes ses vacances, car sa famille et sa belle-famille y résident encore.

Avec le recul du temps, Luciano considère qu’il a beaucoup de chance de pouvoir vivre de la musique. Il est reconnaissant envers ses parents qui lui ont permis de faire ce qu’il désirait et qui lui ont apporté leur soutien. Il a travaillé fort et a su réaliser son rêve de devenir musicien.

SUR SCÈNE ET À LA TÉLÉVISION

Messages pour Luciano