NANA MOUSKOURI

A LIFE, A DESTINY

NANA MOUSKOURI was born in Crete on October 13, 1934. Being that her father was a projectionist and her mother a worker in the cinema, it was natural that she grew up with songs from the movies and the dream of her mother to become a singer. In the forties, her country goes through the occupation and the civil war. The numerous and disconcerting images of horror mould her personality. Introverted and full of complexes, the young Joanna, her real first name, develops a surprising determination.

Everyday, Nana accompanies her father to his cinema. While he's adjusting his projector, she likes standing on the stage contemplating the empty hall. During the reopening of theatres after the war, Nana is ten years old. For the first time, she makes a fascinating discovery; while watching the spectators, she feels that after the projection, they are not the same any more, that the movie had transformed them. A few months later, the whole family attends a musical. During the whole representation, Nana cries, not for the story, but because she would have liked to be on stage. As she sings all day long, her parents decide to enrol her for singing lessons with her sister Jenny. Between the two of them, Nana is the one who will decide to continue.

Spending eight years at the Conservatory of Athens to study classical singing permit her to find her vocation and discover that her musical universe is not limited to any one style. In 1956, she makes her beginnings by singing jazz and popular music on the radio. Then, she becomes band vocalist in the tavernas of Plaka. Two years later, after meeting with MANOS HADJIDAKIS, leader of the Revival of the Greek song scene, he offers to compose for her. On October 3rd, 1959, he presents her at the GREEK SONG FESTIVAL where she wins the first prize with "Kapou iparhi i agapi mou". Within a few months, this song makes her the most popular singer in her country.

Gradually, Nana discovers that she is destined for an international career. The singing recital that she presents every evening in Athens clubs becomes more an more multilingual. In September 1960, in Barcelona, during her first trip abroad, she is the favourite at the MEDITERRANEAN SONG FESTIVAL with "Xypna agapi mou". On her return in Greece, she sings on the soundtrack of the German documentary film "Traumland der Sehnsucht", for which Hadjidakis had written the music. After it won a SILVER BEAR at the Berlin Film Festival, the record company Fontana asked Nana to record two of the main themes in German, "Addio" (Athina) and principally "San sfirixis tris fores", which became "Weisse Rosen aus Athen". The disk was a colossal success, with sales exceeding 1,000,000 copies in less than six months.
In June 1962, at QUINCY JONES's request, she flies to New York City. This stay turns out to be like her second musical school since the Conservatory. During the day, she listens to records and during the evening, she goes to Broadway or in the clubs of Harlem and of Greenwich Village. From that trip, will spring her very first album titled "The Girl from Greece Sings" in which she sings great American standards, with orchestration by TORRIE ZITO. At the end of the summer, Nana settles in France. She adapts to Parisian life, learns French and German on the fly and succeeds to lose several kilos. In spite of her discretion and her glasses, the young Greek singer feels ready to conquer all the Western European countries.

On March 23, 1963, Nana represented Luxembourg at the EUROVISION CONTEST in London. She sang "À force de prier", a song especially written for the event. This appearance drew her to the attention of the producer of the programme, YVONNE LITTLEWOOD, who a few years later would engage her to host a series of musical programmes on the BBC. Furthermore, HARRY BELAFONTE noticed her and decided to invite her as a guest singer for his new show. Together, from 1964 to 1966, they undertook four tours of both college-campus halls and the major North American theatres. They also recorded an album of Greek songs known as "An evening with Belafonte/Mouskouri". This enriching experience reveals to her that the stage is the place where she lives her most beautiful moments of singer.

Following the example of Belafonte, Nana does her first tour alone with her musicians in Quebec in 1967. There, she discovers a little France in America in full effervescence, that lives in its own way its May 1968, the Quiet Revolution. The attachment to this nation will lead her later to record "A place in my heart", a success in seven languages. At the same time, her French songs are having more and more success. The album "Le Coeur trop tendre" earns the GRAND PRIX DE L'ACADÉMIE CHARLES CROS and "Le jour où la colombe...", a first Gold Record. Nana, who chose France as her country of adoption is now considered as a French singer. This success is consolidated on stage, at the OLYMPIA in October of the same year. In the following months, she establishes her main residence in Geneva with her husband, the guitarist GEORGE PETSILAS. It is in Switzerland that their children will be born and raised (Nicolas in 1968 and Helene in 1970). They do not have any more artistic ties with their native land which has just fallen into Colonels' hands. But Nana continues to sing of the Greece which she loves and knew, without pronouncing publicly her views on the dictatorial régime which will last seven years.

In 1969, "Over and Over", her first record for the English market, was released. It remained on the British charts for over 105 weeks! Its success was immense and Nana could measure her popularity in England by her first concert at the ALBERT HALL in London ("sold out" in a few hours) and her first tour in the country. Thanks to the television shows, which she hosted several times a year at the BBC, from 1968 to 1981, her British career was launched. These series were also exported throughout the Commonwealth and even beyond, making her famous throughout the world. Her diary is planned two years in advance and she gives up to 125 performances per year, whether it is in France, Switzerland, Belgium, England, Holland, Ireland, Germany, Canada, United States, Mexico, in Japan…where she accumulated awards. During her first tour in Oceania, she receives 19 Gold records in Australia and 9 in New Zealand.

After having shared the stage since their beginnings, Nana and her husband decide to pursue their separate ways. George returns to Greece and becomes a record producer. For a few months, Nana shelves her career, but her children convince her to continue singing. In August 1975, she was photographed in front of a wall of Gold records from 5 continents; among them was a rare distinction at the time, a Platinum Cassette. Thanks to "Sieben schwarze Rosen" and "Die Welt ist voll Licht", her two new German albums, she renews her popularity with the audience who awarded her first big success. In France, all her albums obtain gold status. Her records, mainly those in English, are released throughout the world and render her each time more popular. From this moment on, she manages three major careers in three languages.

Nana undertakes tour after tour in Europe and in North America. Her records are selling more and more. In 1979, the firm Phonogram offered her an array of 67 golden disks crowning her 20 years of success worldwide. The following year, in Canada, her album "Roses & Sunshine" became triple platinum. While she won the GOLDEN TICKET for over 100 000 tickets sold in a few days for her German tour in 1981, her new hit "Je chante avec toi liberté" boosted her to the top sales in France.


On July 23 and 24, 1984, after more than 20 years' absence, Nana made her grand artistic return in her own country. She sang at one of the most beautiful settings in the world, the ODEON OF HERODES ATTICUS, at the foot of the Acropolis in Athens. These two unique and memorable concerts confirmed that she still counted in the hearts of her compatriots. Even those who blamed her for her silence during the military junta forgive her. This concert was to remain her most vivid memory. It appeared on disk and video and was the biggest seller of the year in Greece. From that day on she decided to make original recordings in Greek for her Greek audience and she began this exploit the following year with her new album "I Endekati Entoli".

During that time, Nana lent her voice to the music of the TV series "Mistral's Daughter". In France, Belgium, and Quebec, the record becomes one of the biggest successes of the year. The English version "Only Love" is launched throughout the world and becomes No 1 in England, Ireland, Holland, Sweden, Finland, South Africa and Brazil. In 1986, after Spain and Portugal joined the European Community, Nana recorded an album in Spanish and another in Portuguese for the first time. It was a shot in the dark which turned into a master coup, since with "Con toda el alma" she propels to the head of the best sellers in Spain. The same scenario is repeated in Argentina and in Chile with "Libertad". This break into the Spanish-speaking market leads her to record new albums in this language.

While she is at the height of her popularity, Nana decides to surpass herself by working her voice like at the time of the Conservatory, and records an album of classical melodies. The challenge is struck up and the effort duely rewarded. It comes out in some twenty countries and sells millions of copies. With this repertoire, she undertakes a new world tour which begins with a series of recitals at the ZENITH in Paris and by an unforgettable concert at the BARBICAN in London in December 1989.

During the nineties, Nana continued to record regularly in 5 languages: French, English, Spanish but also in Greek and in German. Each album is unique and has its own theme. In September 1991, her compilation "Only Love" came out in the U.S. Hailed by the critics, it sold by the hundreds of thousands. The tours she undertook in America took her from Miami to Detroit, from Los Angeles to Dallas, from Seattle to New Orleans. Wherever she went, the halls were packed.


From 1993, Nana had to reconcile her career with her engagement as AMBASSADOR AND WORLD REPRESENTATIVE FOR THE PERFORMING ARTS at UNICEF and later on, from 1994 to 1999 with her post as GREEK DEPUTY OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMANT. She continued never-the-less to give about forty concerts a year and added Latin America to her tour circuit. Her appointment as Goodwill Ambassador for UNICEF lead her to visit new countries: Vietnam, Kenya, Guatemala, Bosnia, Bulgaria, Russia, Romania and Madagascar, whether it was to give benefit concerts or open their programs. At the Parliament, she worked mainly in the field of Culture, Education and Development.

Singer of Reference and Woman of Engagement, Nana doesn't count any more the tributes bestowed upon her. In June 1996, in Brussels, the President of the IFPI – International Federation of the Record Industry – presented her with a PLATINUM EUROPE AWARD in honour of her career in Europe and the millions of records she has sold there. At UNICEF's 50th Anniversary Gala, held in Chicago in February 1997, HARRY BELAFONTE presented Nana with the prestigious WORLD OF CHILDREN AWARD for her humanitarian efforts. The same year, on September 11, she was awarded CHEVALIER OF THE LEGION OF HONOUR, at the Palais de l'Elysée by the President of the French Republic, JACQUES CHIRAC.

With the turning of the millenium, Nana makes a new classical album in which she draws from more classical composers, religious and traditional hymns. The mythical album produced by QUINCY JONES in 1962 "In New York - The Girl from Greece Sings" is re-released on CD and finds a second career. While the readers of HMV CHOICE choose it as the best album of the year in the category "Easy Listening", the press describe it as an "overlooked chef d'oeuvre". In Germany, it will be certified five-time golden record. One evening in the summer of 2002, she is the invited artist of the Festival of jazz in Stuttgart. She is accompanied by the big band of Radio Berlin and this unique recital will be released as Nana's very first DVD under the title of "Nana Swings".

On January 13, 2003, Nana and her producer ANDRE CHAPELLE unite their destiny through marriage. They choose to do it in a private ceremony, in the presence of 15 guests including her two children. NICOLAS is a cameraman. HELENE (LÉNOU), just launched out into a solo career after having been back up accompanist singer for her mother during three years. From 2004 to 2008, Nana does a long Farewell World Tour to thank her audience who is faithful to her for so many years. At the same time, her French, English and Spanish Integrals are released. Each one bears witness of a unique musical heritage legacy for present and future generations.

Her distance from the stages gives her unprecedented freedom. But time makes her understand that music remains her only real passion. So, in the spring of 2012, she tours Germany, Switzerland and Austria to commemorate the 50th anniversary of her signature song "Weisse Rosen aus Athen". And, from 2013 to 2016, she is back on a world tour on the occasion of her 80th birthday.

A life, a destiny. The one of a woman, an artist whose respect towards the public won her the attachment and the loyalty of all.

NANA MOUSKOURI

UNE VIE, UN DESTIN

NANA MOUSKOURI est née en Crète le 13 octobre 1934. Fille d’un projectionniste et d’une ouvreuse de cinéma, elle grandit avec les musiques de films et le rêve de sa mère de devenir chanteuse. Dans les années ’40, son pays connaît l’occupation et la guerre civile. Nombreuses et troublantes, les images d’horreur façonnent sa personnalité. Introvertie et complexée, la jeune Joanna, de son véritable prénom, développe une détermination surprenante.

Tous les jours, Nana accompagne son père à son cinéma. Pendant qu’il s’affaire à ajuster son projecteur, elle aime monter sur la scène pour contempler la salle vide. Lors de la réouverture des théâtres après la guerre, Nana a dix ans. Pour la première fois, elle fait une découverte fascinante; en observant les spectateurs, elle sent qu’après la projection, ils ne sont plus les mêmes, que le film les a transformés. Quelques mois plus tard, toute la famille assiste à une comédie musicale. Pendant toute la représentation, Nana pleure, non pas à cause de l’histoire, mais parce qu’elle aurait aimé être sur scène. Comme elle chante tout le temps, ses parents décident de l’inscrire à des cours de chant avec sa sœur Jenny. Des deux, seule Nana décidera de continuer.

Huit années passées au Conservatoire d’Athènes à étudier le chant classique lui permettent de trouver sa vocation et de découvrir que son univers musical ne se limite pas à un style. En 1956, elle fait ses débuts à la radio en chantant du jazz et du populaire. Puis, elle devient chanteuse d’orchestre dans les tavernes de la Plaka. Deux ans plus tard, c’est la rencontre avec MANOS HADJIDAKIS, père de la Renaissance de la Chanson grecque, qui lui propose de composer pour elle. Le 3 octobre 1959, il la présente au FESTIVAL DE LA CHANSON HELLÉNIQUE où elle remporte le premier prix avec "Kapou iparhi i agapi mou". En quelques mois, cette chanson en fait la chanteuse la plus populaire de son pays.

Peu à peu, Nana découvre qu'elle se destine à une carrière internationale. Le tour de chant qu'elle présente tous les soirs dans les clubs d'Athènes devient de plus en plus multilingue. En septembre 1960, à Barcelone, lors de son premier voyage à l’étranger, elle est lauréate du FESTIVAL DE LA CHANSON MÉDITERRANÉENNE avec "Xypna agapi mou". À son retour en Grèce, elle chante sur la bande sonore du documentaire allemand "Traumland der Sehnsucht" dont Hadjidakis a écrit la musique. Après avoir obtenu un OURS D’ARGENT au festival du film de Berlin, la maison de disques Fontana demande à Nana d’enregistrer deux des thèmes principaux en langue allemande: "Addio" (Athina) et surtout "Sans sfirixis tris fores" qui devient "Weisse Rosen aus Athen". Ce disque remporte un succès colossal. En moins de six mois, les ventes dépassent le million d’exemplaires.

En juin 1962, à la demande de QUINCY JONES, elle s’envole pour New York. Ce séjour s’avère comme sa deuxième école musicale depuis le Conservatoire. Le jour, on lui donne des disques à écouter et le soir, on l’emmène à Broadway ou dans les boîtes de Harlem et de Greenwich Village. De ce voyage, naîtra son tout premier album intitulé "The Girl from Greece Sings", dans lequel elle chante de grands standards américains accompagnée par l’orchestre de TORRIE ZITO. À la fin de l’été, Nana s’installe en France. Elle s’adapte à la vie parisienne, apprend le français et l’allemand sur le tas et réussit à perdre plusieurs kilos. Malgré sa discrétion et ses lunettes, la jeune chanteuse grecque se sent prête à conquérir tous les pays européens occidentaux.

Le 23 mars 1963, Nana représente le Luxembourg au CONCOURS DE L’EUROVISION à Londres. Elle y interprète "À force de prier", une chanson écrite pour l'événement. Sa prestation lui permettra de se faire remarquer par la productrice de l’émission, YVONNE LITTLEWOOD, qui lui confiera quelques années plus tard l’animation d’une série de programmes musicaux sur la BBC. D’autre part, HARRY BELAFONTE, de passage à Londres, la remarque et la choisit comme artiste invitée pour son prochain spectacle. Ensemble, de 1964 à 1966, ils entreprennent quatre tournées dans les campus et les grands théâtres nord-américains. Puis, ils enregistrent un album de chansons grecques connu sous le titre de "An evening with Belafonte/Mouskouri". Cette expérience enrichissante lui révèle que la scène est l’endroit où elle vit ses plus beaux moments de chanteuse.

Suivant l’exemple de Belafonte, Nana effectue sa première tournée seule avec son orchestre au Québec en 1967. Elle découvre une petite France en Amérique en pleine effervescence qui vit à sa façon son mai 1968, la Révolution tranquille. L’attachement à cette nation l’amènera plus tard à interpréter "Je reviens chez nous", un succès en sept langues. Au même moment, ses chansons en langue française remportent de plus en plus de succès. L’album "Le cœur trop tendre" lui vaut le GRAND PRIX DE L’ACADÉMIE CHARLES CROS et "Le jour où la colombe…", un premier disque d’or. Nana qui a choisi la France comme pays d’adoption est maintenant considérée comme une chanteuse française. Ce succès se concrétise sur la scène de l’OLYMPIA en octobre de la même année. Dans les mois qui suivent, elle établit sa résidence principale à Genève avec son mari, le guitariste GEORGES PETSILAS. C’est en Suisse que naîtront et grandiront leurs enfants (Nicolas en 1968 et Hélène en 1970). Ils n’ont plus de liens artistiques avec leur pays natal qui vient de tomber aux mains des Colonels. Mais Nana continue à chanter la Grèce qu’elle aime et qu’elle a connue, sans se prononcer publiquement sur le régime dictatorial qui durera sept ans.

En 1969, paraît "Over and Over", son premier album destiné au marché anglais. Il reste classé dans les palmarès britanniques pendant 105 semaines! Le succès est immense et Nana peut mesurer sa popularité en Angleterre lors de son premier concert au ROYAL ALBERT HALL de Londres ("sold out" en quelques heures) et lors de sa première tournée dans ce pays. Grâce aux shows télévisés qu’elle anime plusieurs fois par an à la BBC, de 1968 à 1981, sa carrière anglo-saxonne est lancée. Ces séries étant exportées dans tout le Commonwealth et même au-delà, elle devient célèbre dans le monde entier. Son agenda est planifié deux ans à l’avance et elle donne jusqu’à 125 représentations par année, que ce soit en France, en Suisse, en Belgique, en Angleterre, en Hollande, en Irlande, en Allemagne, au Canada, aux États-Unis, au Mexique, au Japon…où elle accumule les prix. Lors de sa première tournée en Océanie, elle reçoit 19 disques d’or de l’Australie et 9 de la Nouvelle-Zélande.

Après avoir partagé la scène depuis leurs débuts, Nana et son mari décident de poursuivre leurs chemins séparément. Georges retourne en Grèce et devient producteur de disques. Pendant quelques mois, Nana met sa carrière en veilleuse, mais ses enfants la convainquent de continuer à chanter. En août 1975, elle se fait photographier devant un mur de disques d’or provenant des cinq continents; on y remarque, distinction rarissime à l’époque, une cassette de platine. "Sieben schwarze Rosen" et "Die Welt ist voll Licht", ses deux nouveaux albums allemands lui permettent de renouveler sa popularité avec le public qui lui a fait connaître son premier grand succès. En France, tous ses albums deviennent or. Ses disques, essentiellement ceux en langue anglaise, sortent partout dans le monde et la rendent à chaque fois plus populaire. Elle mène dorénavant trois carrières en trois langues.

Nana enchaîne tournée après tournée en Europe et en Amérique du Nord. Ses disques se vendent de plus en plus. En 1979, la firme Phonogram lui offre un coffret de 67 disques d'or couronnant ses 20 ans de succès à travers le monde. L'année suivante, au Canada, son album "Roses & Sunshine" devient triple platine. Pendant qu'elle obtient le BILLET D'OR pour plus de 100 000 billets vendus en quelques jours pour sa tournée allemande 1981, son nouveau hit "Je chante avec toi liberté" la propulse au No 1 des ventes en France.


Les 23 et 24 juillet 1984 marquent son grand retour artistique dans son pays après plus de 20 ans d’absence. Elle chante dans un des plus beaux décors du monde: l'ODÉON D'HÉRODE ATTICUS, au pied de l’Acropole à Athènes. Ces deux concerts uniques et mémorables lui confirment qu’elle compte toujours dans le cœur de ses compatriotes. Même ceux qui lui reprochaient son silence pendant la junte militaire lui pardonnent enfin. Ce concert restera son plus beau souvenir de scène. Il sortira en disque et en vidéo et représentera la plus grande vente de l’année en Grèce. Depuis cette date, elle décide de refaire des enregistrements originaux en grec pour ce public et c’est ainsi qu’elle renouvellera cet exploit l’année suivante avec son nouvel album "I Endekati Entoli".

Entre temps, Nana prête sa voix à la musique de la série télévisée "L’amour en héritage". En France, en Belgique et au Québec, le disque devient un des plus grands succès de l’année. La version anglaise "Only Love" est lancée à travers le monde et occupe le premier rang des palmarès en Angleterre, en Irlande, en Hollande, en Suède, en Finlande, en Afrique du Sud et au Brésil. En 1986, après l’entrée de l’Espagne et du Portugal dans la Communauté Européenne, Nana enregistre pour la première fois un album en espagnol et un autre en portugais. Un coup d’essai qui se transforme en coup de maître puisqu’avec "Con toda el alma", elle se retrouve en tête de la liste des plus grands vendeurs en Espagne. Le même scénario se répète en Argentine et au Chili avec "Libertad". Cette percée sur le marché hispanophone l’amène à produire de nouveaux albums dans cette langue.

Alors qu’elle est au sommet de sa popularité, Nana décide de se surpasser en travaillant sa voix comme à l’époque du Conservatoire et enregistre un album de mélodies classiques. Le défi est relevé et le succès au rendez-vous. Il sort dans une vingtaine de pays et se vend à des millions d'exemplaires. Avec ce répertoire, elle entreprend une nouvelle tournée mondiale qui débute par une série de récitals au ZENITH de Paris et par un concert inoubliable au BARBICAN CENTER de Londres en décembre 1989.

Au cours des années ’90, Nana continue d’enregistrer en cinq langues: en français, en anglais, en espagnol, mais aussi en grec en en allemand. Chaque album est unique et a son propre thème. En septembre 1991, sa compilation "Only Love" sort aux États-Unis. Saluée par la critique, elle se vend par centaines de milliers d’exemplaires. Les tournées qu’elle entreprend en Amérique la conduisent de Miami à Détroit, de Los Angeles à Dallas, de Seattle à la Nouvelle-Orléans. Partout, elle fait salle comble.


À partir de 1993, Nana doit concilier sa carrière avec son engagement d'AMBASSADRICE ET REPRÉSENTANTE DU MONDE DES SPECTACLES pour L’UNICEF et plus tard, de 1994 à 1999 avec son poste de DÉPUTÉE GRECQUE AU PARLEMENT EUROPÉEN. Elle continue néanmoins à donner une quarantaine de récitals par année et rajoute l’Amérique latine à son circuit habituel. Sa nomination de porte-parole pour l’UNICEF l’amène à visiter de nouveaux pays: le Vietnam, le Kenya, le Guatemala, la Bosnie, la Bulgarie, la Russie, la Roumanie et le Madagascar, que ce soit pour donner des concerts bénéfices ou inaugurer leurs programmes. Au Parlement, elle oeuvre principalement dans le domaine de la culture, de l’éducation et du développement.

Chanteuse de référence et femme d’engagement, Nana ne compte plus les hommages qu’on lui rend. En juin 1996, à Bruxelles, le Président de la IFPI – Fédération Internationale de l’Industrie discographique – lui présente le PLATINUM EUROPE en hommage à sa carrière en Europe et les millions de disques qu’elle a vendus là-bas. Lors du gala pour le 50e anniversaire de l’UNICEF qui a lieu à Chicago en février 1997, HARRY BELAFONTE remet à Nana la prestigieuse récompense WORLD OF CHILDREN AWARD pour ses activités humanitaires. Le 11 septembre de la même année, elle est décorée CHEVALIER DE LA LÉGION D’HONNEUR au Palais de l’Élysée par le Président de la République française, JACQUES CHIRAC.

Au tournant du millénaire, Nana refait un nouvel album classique dans lequel elle aborde les grands compositeurs, le chant religieux et traditionnel. L’album mythique produit par QUINCY JONES en 1962 "In New York – The Girl from Greece Sings" est ressorti en CD et connaît une seconde carrière. Tandis que les lecteurs de HMV CHOICE le choisissent comme le meilleur album de l’année, catégorie "Easy Listening", la presse le qualifie de "chef d’œuvre méconnu". En Allemagne, il sera certifié quintuple disque d'or. Un soir d’été 2002, elle est l’artiste invitée du Festival de jazz à Stuttgart. Elle chante accompagnée du big band de Radio Berlin. Ce récital inhabituel sera son tout premier DVD et sortira sous le titre de "Nana Swings".

Le 13 janvier 2003, Nana et son producteur ANDRÉ CHAPELLE unissent leur destinée. Ils choisissent de le faire dans l’intimité, en présence de 15 invités dont ses deux enfants. NICOLAS est cameraman. HÉLÈNE (LÉNOU) vient de se lancer dans une carrière solo après avoir été la choriste de sa mère pendant trois ans. De 2004 à 2008, Nana effectue une longue tournée mondiale d’adieux afin de remercier son public qui lui est fidèle depuis tant d’années. Parallèlement, ses intégrales françaises, anglaises et espagnoles voient le jour. Chacune est le témoin d’un patrimoine musical unique autant pour les générations présentes que futures.

Son éloignement de la scène lui procure une liberté sans précédent. Mais le temps lui fait comprendre que la musique demeure sa seule véritable passion. Alors, au printemps de 2012, elle sillonne l'Allemagne, la Suisse et l'Autriche afin de commémorer les 50 ans de sa chanson fétiche "Weisse Rosen aus Athen". Et, de 2013 à 2016, là revoilà en tournée mondiale à l'occasion de son 80e anniversaire.

Une vie, un destin. Celui d’une femme, d’une artiste dont le respect envers le public lui a gagné l’attachement et la fidélité de tous.