Quebec & Ontario 1981

With the tour of May and June 1981, a new poster appears in front of theaters, in radio stations and record shops. On this photo of Uwe Ommer, Nana looks serious and wears a silver and red jacket. On it, we notice a small charm with the letters USA in red, white and blue. Would it be an unconscious way to display her American influence of the last few years or her first major breakthrough on that market? With hindsight, we can say that this photo wasn't used as propaganda. Even that it's a bit dark to be used in the newspapers. However, in France, it is used to illustrate the inside of the album cover of "Vivre avec toi".

Since Nana is under contract with the Canadian label Grand Records, it has the rights of her new material. For this reason, two French albums come out within a few months: "Vivre au soleil" and "Vivre avec toi". Among the new titles, let's mention "Parle-moi", on a Brahms lullaby, which plays often on the radio. For the second time, this song comes out on 45 rpm disc. It is rather unusual. In any case, in Canada. In other countries, we have seen this especially for mega hits like "Weisse Rosen aus Athen" / "The white rose of Athens", "Lied der Freiheit" and "Only Love".

Her latest English albums are still among the best sellers. That same year, "Come with me" becomes double platinum and "Roses & Sunshine", golden, under the banner of Grand Records. PolyGram, which a year earlier took over from London Records, has retained her other English LPs in its catalog. They are regularly reprinted to meet the demand.

At the beginning of the 1980s, Nana performs in several arenas and stadiums with a capacity of 8,000, 10,000 and even 13,000 places. That is the case in Halifax, Ottawa and Toronto. During this tour, she sets her attendance record in the province with 6,000 spectators at Colisée de Québec. No doubt because of her English breakthrough, her stay mostly held her in Ontario. Nana's itinerary includes Kitchener, a city that will be part of many of her upcoming tours.

 

Original pages of the new program:


MAY 1981
Sunday
Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
1
2
             
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
Montreal
Montreal
Montreal
Montreal
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
Montreal
Montreal
 

Hamilton, ON

Hamilton, ON

Hamilton, ON

17
18
19
20
21
22
23

Hamilton, ON

Hamilton, ON

Hamilton, ON

Hamilton, ON

 

Toronto, ON

24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Toronto, ON

Toronto, ON

Kitchener, ON
Kitchener, ON

Toronto, ON

Toronto, ON

 
31
           

 

JUNE 1981
Sunday
Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
Saturday
1
2
3
4
5
6
   
Ottawa, ON
Ottawa, ON
Ottawa, ON
Ottawa, ON
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
Ottawa, ON
           
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
             
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
             
28
29
30
             

Concert of May 8, 1981 at Place des Arts :

First part:

01- Introduction & Chimera
02- Parle-moi
03- Smooth sailing
04- Mia fora ki enan kairo
05- Finis ta chanson sans moi
06- When I dream
07- Vivre avec toi
08- La belle est au jardin d'amour
09- Opa ni-na-nai
10- The guests
11- Vivre au soleil
12- Pardonne-moi
13- Casta diva

Second part:

01- Roses Love Sunshine
02- Un beau matin à la fraîche
03- Kyra Georgina
04- Comme un soleil
05- 372 (The Olympians)
06- Enas mythos
07- Prière
08- Turn on the sun
09- Le temps qu'il nous reste
10- Le ciel est noir
11- The three bells
12- Come with me
13- Come with me (repeat)
14- Plaisir d'amour
15- Nickels & dimes
16- Ave Maria (Gounod)
17- Ta pedia tou Pirea

Québec & Ontario 1981

Avec la tournée de mai et juin 1981, une nouvelle affiche fait son apparition devant les théâtres, dans les stations de radio et chez les disquaires. Sur cette photo d'Uwe Ommer, Nana arbore un air sérieux et porte un veston argent et rouge. Sur celui-ci, on remarque une petite breloque avec les lettres USA en rouge, blanc et bleu. Serait-ce une façon inconsciente d'afficher son influence américaine des dernières années ou encore sa première grande percée sur ce marché? Avec le recul du temps, on est en mesure de dire que cette photo n'a pas servie de propagande. Même qu'elle est un peu sombre pour être utilisée dans les journaux. Toutefois, en France, elle sert pour illustrer l'intérieur de la pochette de l'album "Vivre avec toi".

Depuis que Nana est sous contrat avec le label canadien Grand Records, celui-ci a l'exclusivité de ses nouveautés. Pour cette raison, deux albums francophones sortent à quelques mois d'intervalle: "Vivre au soleil" et "Vivre avec toi". Parmi les nouveaux titres, soulignons "Parle-moi", sur une berceuse de Brahms, qui tourne souvent à la radio. Pour la seconde fois, cette chanson sort en 45 tours. Il s'agit d'une pratique peu courante. En tout cas, au Canada. Dans d'autres pays, on a vu ça surtout pour des méga succès comme "Weisse Rosen aus Athen" / "The white rose of Athens", "Lied der Freiheit" et "Only Love".

Ses derniers albums anglophones continuent à connaître des ventes importantes. Cette même année, "Come with me" devient double platine et "Roses & Sunshine", or, sous la bannière de Grand Records. PolyGram, qui un an plus tôt, prenait la relève de London Records, a conservé ses autres microsillons anglais dans son catalogue. Il en fait réimprimer régulièrement afin de répondre à la demande. 

Au début des années 1980, Nana se produit dans plusieurs arenas et des stades d'une capacité allant de 8 000, 10 000 et même de 13 000 places. C'est le cas notamment à Halifax, Ottawa et à Toronto. Au cours de cette tournée, elle établit son record d'assistance dans la province avec 6 000 spectateurs au Colisée de Québec. Sans doute en raison de sa percée anglophone, son séjour la retient surtout en Ontario. À son itinéraire, Nana rajoute notamment Kitchener, une ville qui fera partie de plusieurs de ses prochaines tournées.

 

Pages originales du nouveau programme:


MAI 1981
Dimanche
Lundi
Mardi
Mercredi
Jeudi
Vendredi
Samedi
1
2
             
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
Montréal
Montréal
Montréal
Montréal
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
Montréal
Montréal
 

Hamilton, ON

Hamilton, ON

Hamilton, ON

17
18
19
20
21
22
23

Hamilton, ON

Hamilton, ON

Hamilton, ON

Hamilton, ON

 

Toronto, ON

24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Toronto, ON

Toronto, ON

Kitchener, ON
Kitchener, ON

Toronto, ON

Toronto, ON

 
31
           

 

JUIN 1981
Dimanche
Lundi
Mardi
Mercredi
Jeudi
Vendredi
Samedi
1
2
3
4
5
6
   
Ottawa, ON
Ottawa, ON
Ottawa, ON
Ottawa, ON
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
Ottawa, ON
           
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
             
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
             
28
29
30
             

Récital du 8 mai 1981 à la Place des Arts :

Première partie:

01- Introduction & Chimera
02- Parle-moi
03- Smooth sailing
04- Mia fora ki enan kairo
05- Finis ta chanson sans moi
06- When I dream
07- Vivre avec toi
08- La belle est au jardin d'amour
09- Opa ni-na-nai
10- The guests
11- Vivre au soleil
12- Pardonne-moi
13- Casta diva

Deuxième partie:

01- Roses Love Sunshine
02- Un beau matin à la fraîche
03- Kyra Georgina
04- Comme un soleil
05- 372 (Les Olympiens)
06- Enas mythos
07- Prière
08- Turn on the sun
09- Le temps qu'il nous reste
10- Le ciel est noir
11- The three bells
12- Come with me
13- Come with me (reprise)
14- Plaisir d'amour
15- Nickels & dimes
16- Ave Maria (Gounod)
17- Ta pedia tou Pirea